Panerai - Educate me!

Discussion in 'Panerai Watches' started by Pete17, Dec 21, 2008.

1. Pete17

Pete17

Silver Member
    As a long time Rolex nut I have always been curious to the allure of the Panerai watches.
    I know there is a Rolex link to Panerai way back when but that's about all I know I'm afraid.

Quality wise - how do they compare to the Rolex sports watches?
    Are they a reliable watch?
    Do they keep their value?

They all seem to be about 44mm diameter.
    But how thick are they?

Do they use SuperLuminova?
    I saw a Luminor Submersible for sale here the other day. I think it was made back in 2004. I was surprised to see it had a tritum dial.

Do all their watches have an in-house movement in them these days?

They all seem to come on rubber straps which I don't really like.
    Is it possible to buy one from an AD with a bracelet?

I look forward to all your views and opinions on these fine watches.
  2. Wostep

Wostep

TKF Newbie
    As a technician i wouldnt reccomend Panerai`s .
    Reliable ? Yes , but not like the monster called 3135 movement .
    They mainly use Eta products which they decorate in order to give their own touch to the movements .
    Been to the Eta factory i can assure that all the decorations are made by Eta .
    They already construct some "in house" movements but the majority of their products still use the Eta calibers .
    Panerai and all these brands just order their movements and Eta is responsible to deliver them decorated already .
    Do they keep their value? At least in Greece yes because of the marketing and all these commercial .
    But again you cant compare with Rolex .
    Reffering to the super luminova i dont have a clue to help you out .
    They have rubber straps , leather straps as well as bracelets so you wont have any problem to buy a bracelet if that what you ask .
    But seriously in that price range Rolex is more powerful than any other brand .
    And also the value for money .